Kristen’s Life Verse Romans 12:2

 

“Do what you think God wants you to do, do what you think God wants you to do!” That’s what everyone would tell me! But to a little girl of 9 years old, I wasn’t quite sure what God really wanted me to do. How was I supposed to know what God wanted from me? I was only 9 for crying out loud. My mom had given me this bookmark for my bible, and on it said, “Do not conform to the ways of the world but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is, His good, pleasing, and perfect will.” Romans 12:2. Okay … what’s that supposed to mean? God’s will? Conformed? Renewing of your mind? I mean I loved Jesus and I knew He was my Savior, but what was this verse saying? I guess I never really understood it then, but that bookmark had become one of my favorites. Little did I know that this verse would mean a ALOT to me later in my life.

Now, going into 6th grade was a big deal, it meant the end of being in the same classroom the whole day, to the beginning of the 6 classes a day and electives! This year was going to be awesome! That year, I made lots of new friends and spent more time hanging out with them, then going to church. I knew church was important, I just didn’t feel like going sometimes. During 6th grade, I also started to curse and I guess you could say I got lazy in my walk with Jesus. That summer, I moved. It wasn’t that far, but I still angry that I would have to leave all my friends behind. We moved alot closer to our church and our family made a commitment to be more involved in church.

 

For 7th grade, I had to start a completely new school and I wasn’t very happy about that. Because I didn’t know anyone at school, I started to become more involved with the activities at my church and I made closer friends with the people there. In March of that year, I was invited to come on the middle school retreat our youth group was having. I t was first retreat and I didn’t really know what to expect. We were put into groups and each group had a leader. The theme of the retreat was to get into your bible more and to have a more personal relationship with him, so that you can show others his love. Now, I knew Jesus, but I didn’t really have a relationship with him, but that was about to change. The last night we were there my leader made us all think aobut our lives we were living, and if they were really God lead. I knew I was drawing away from God and I wanted to come back. So that night i made a commitment to myself and to God that I would have a more personal relationship with him.

That morning before we left I was looking thorugh my bible, I came across Romans 12:2 and I rembered it from my bookmark. I read it and I realzed that before I was just following the ways of the world and I was going farther and farther from God, and it was just a matter of time before I forgot about him completely. But this verse inspired me to follow God. It was then when I fully understood my favorite verse. I had to live how God wanted me to and do what he thinks is best, no matter what. Living and acting like the rest of the world wasn’t going to get me anywhere.

Through the years I’ve realized that God gave me this verse way before I could understand it, so that it would mean that much more to me when I could. I know that God’s will is the right way and I’m excited to put it to the test and see just how good, pleasing, and perfect it is.

 

 

    

    

Leave a Reply

